‘NO STRESS’

Standard

 

To know pain, is to understand how to accept another person’s differences. I can sit here and write things that may pull on the heart strings of many that read this. But today, my story is different from the others I’ve been reading on this blog. I didn’t have the hard, painful acceptance like many others did. My entire family was accepting; looking back, they embraced me even more and were willing to fight anyone that had anything nasty to say about me. My family is like the gladiators on my side. They are the replica of the army from the movie ‘300’ and will ‘sparta’ anyone’s ass that disrespect me. I was always a ‘tomboy’ growing up. I loved climbing trees, playing with cars, karate fighting with the boys in the neighbourhood and never wearing a dress or skirt. My grandmother always said, “you act too much like a boy child’. I loved my grandmother, she calls it as she sees it and never puts ‘water in her mouth’ to talk.

I distinctly remembered one Christmas morning, my cousins, sisters and I all standing around waiting to receive our presents. While the girls got dollies and tea sets, the boys got cars and miniature train sets; well of course you know your ‘girl’ got herself whatever the boys got. My mom had me when she was fifteen; I believed that may have played a contributing part in her embracing me, maybe because she was growing up in the same era as I was. A matter of fact, I wasn’t the one who came out and told her I preferred women over men, she was actually the one that came to me and said, ‘I know you like your girls, just make sure she’s a pretty one you’re bring home to me’. I was shocked and even a little embarrassed, maybe because I probably was looking for the suspense in ‘coming out’ to her. But then I remembered that my mom was young too, everything I thought she didn’t know, she knew, she was able to pick up on any little thing that was going on with me. Now that I was 100% sure she knew about my sexuality, I was less uptight to say certain things around her. I am the type of lesbian many called a ‘dike’. I like wearing my jeans, I have a few tattoos, a couple of piercings and I sit with my legs open (laughing). Even more, I love my male cousins, I party with the boys, I drink like one of the boys and I flirt with the girls like one of the boys. Now don’t get me confused with the ‘dikes’ that are very aggressive because I am not one like that, I hate rejection (that’s probably the female in me) and I am very selective in who catches my attention. I have a lot of female friends and they all know my persuasion and just like my family they love me for who I am. I get along great with straight people, very few would be too ‘holy’ to accept me for who I am, but last time I checked; I never once gave a damn.

I have my degree in engineering and I must say I’m doing pretty well thus far. I can be a smart ass when I’m ready but it comes with the territory. For those who dislike gay, bisexual or lesbian people, that’s your demons to deal with because we’re living our lives and we’re not bothered by what straight people do or are doing with their time. To this day I am continuously grateful for the family God has bless me with, there is nothing in my life I would change if I had to do it all over again. I just hope that the many people who are battling with ‘coming out’ about their sexuality find peace. Trust me, when you’re able to open up and let it out, if feels like a huge burden has been lifted off your shoulders and you can now skip along the puddles of this beautiful thing called life.

 

Leave a comment